× HomeAbout usAdvertisementContact us
Laftagareen Wins South West Polls

Laftagareen Wins South West Polls

Former Energy Minister Abdiaziz Laftagareen on Wednesday emerged winner to become the new Southwest leader.
Laftagareen won the polls in first round voting with 103 votes of the 147 MPs.
His closest challenger, Aden Saransor got 22 votes.
Security was beefed up in the administrative headquarters Baidoa with heavy presence of Ethiopian troops and Federal police in strategic postions.
The town was last week hit by three days of unrest triggered by the arrest of presidential candidate Mukhtar Robow.
Polls had favored then former Alshabaab Deputy as the possible winner until he was ruled out of the elections following his dramatic arrest.
The federal government accused him of reneging on his surrender agreement.
Laftagareen takes over from Sharif Hassan Adan who dropped out of the race.