× HomeAbout usAdvertisementContact us
92 Mps File Impeachment Motion Against Farmaajo For

92 Mps File Impeachment Motion Against Farmaajo For "Violating" Constitution

92 Mps File Impeachment Motion Against Farmaajo For "Violating" Constitution A section of Somali Mps on Sunday  officially filed a motion of impeachment against President Mohamed Abdullahi Farmaajo accusing him of violating the constitution. The Mps met Speaker of the Somalia Upper House Mohamed Mursal Abdirahman and presented him with a signed copy of the motion. The Mps accuse Farmaajo of sigining " secret agreements" citing the recent tripartite agreement between Somalia, Eritrea and Ethiopia. The Mps are concerned at Farmaajo's "agreement" to the proposed Horn of Africa unification under one president as announced by Ethiopian PM Ahmed Abiy at the tripartite meeting. The Mps have farther expressed their displeasure at this year's signing of a deal with Ethiopia that will give the land-locked country access to three Somali ports. The controversial 2017 extradition of former ONLF commander Abdirahman Muse Qalbi Dhagah to Ethiopia has been mentioned as a reason to have Farmaajo impeached. The Mps term the extradition a constitution breach. Radio Dalsan contacted Villa Somalia to seek an official response to the impending motion. According to Villa Somalia the motion is the "work of foreign countries" it declined to name. Only 92 Mps signed the motion meaning a tough task ahead for them. The president can only be unseated by a joint session of the parliament 276 the Lower House and  54 Upper House with a two third majority.